Wayne Schreier, Ph.D.

(954) 262-1355

Wayne Schreier, M.S., Ph.D., joined the Nova Southeastern University College of Medical Sciences in 2003 and currently serves as Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs, Professor & Chair of Physiology.  He also serves as Professor of Medical Education in the NSU Dr. Kiran C. Patel Colleges of Allopathic Medicine (NSU MD) and Professor of Biomedical Sciences in the NSU Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine (KPCOM).

Dr. Schreier earned his Bachelor of Science in Biological and Medical Sciences from Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville. He received a Master of Science in Anatomy and a Ph.D. in Anatomy and Cell Biology from the University of California at Los Angeles. He completed a postdoctoral fellowship in the neuroendocrinology of aging at the University of Southern California.

Dr. Schreier brings a broad range of experience to his teaching. His research has covered many topics including clinical chemistry, neuropharmacology, enzymology, electron microscopy, immunochemistry, bioassay development, cell culture, experimental models of cardiovascular and neurological pathology, and the hormonal regulation of cell differentiation and gene expression.

Dr. Schreier was formerly Director of Research & Development at Biocell Laboratories, and a Senior Scientist and Project Manager at Baxter Diagnostics and Dade-Behring.  He has directed the successful development and market release of over 35 biomedical products and medical diagnostic reagents, including 18 FDA approved immunoassay kits for the clinical analysis of human serum proteins.  As a consultant, he has performed process and test method validations, product design, and process improvements for several companies including Abbott Laboratories, Baxter International, and Andrx Pharmaceuticals.

Dr. Schreier is a member of the Endocrine Society and an emeritus member of the American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC). He was a founding member of the Florida Section of the American Association for Clinical Chemistry, Inc., and continuously served on the board of directors from 1993 until 2013. He was twice elected chair of the Florida section (1994 & 2003-2005), and has also served the Florida section AACC as secretary (1993) and treasurer (1995-2001; 2007-2013). At the national level he served two terms in the AACC House of Delegates (1995-2001), was a member of the fiscal affairs committee (1996-1999) and was chair of the AACC Membership Committee (2000).